## American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations



815 Sixteenth Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20006 (202) 637-5000 www.aflcio.org RICHARD L. TRUMKA PRESIDENT

Gerald W. McEntee William Lucy Edwin D. Hill James Williams Gregory J. Junemann Mark H. Ayers Randi Weingarten Patrick D. Finley Robert McEilrath Ken Howard General Hollefield Terry O'Sullivan Lawrence J. Hanley James Callahan Michael Sacco Robert A. Scardelletti Clyde Rivers William Hite Nancy Wohlforth Richard P. Hughes Jr. Rogelio "Roy" A. Flores Malcolm B. Futhey Jr. Roberta Reardon James Boland Lee A. Saunders Veda Shook Lorretta Johnson DeMaurice Smith

ELIZABETH H. SHULER ARLENE HOLT BAKER SECRETARY-TREASURER EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT

**EXECUTIVE COUNCIL** 

 Frank Hurt
 Michae

 R. Thomas Buffenbarger
 Harold

 Cecil Roberts
 Leo W

 John Gage
 Larry C

 James C. Little
 Rose A

 Fred Redmond
 Matthe

 Fred Redmond
 Diann

 Newton B. Jones
 D. Micl

 Baldemar Velasquez
 John V

 Bruce R. Smith
 Bob Ki

 James Andrews
 Maria B

 Walter W. Wise
 Cliff Ga

Michael Goodwin Harold Schaitberger Leo W. Gerard Larry Cohen Rose Ann DeMoro Matthew Loeb Diann Woodard D. Michael Langford John W. Wilhelm Bob King Maria Elena Durazo Cliff Guffey Joseph J. Nigro

March 30, 2012

The Honorable Barack Obama President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We are the Presidents and other elected officers of the affiliated unions of the AFL-CIO and we write in support of the federal Transportation Security Officers who are members of the American Federation of Government Employees. As you know, after TSOs overwhelmingly voted to join AFGE, they have been in bargaining talks with the Transportation Security Administration. Although it has been close to a year since the election, the parties have still not reached agreement on a contract.

We write to urge a prompt settlement of the collective bargaining agreement. We further urge the Administration to confer on Transportation Security Officers full collective bargaining rights with a binding grievance and arbitration procedure similar to the rights of other federal employees.

Thank you for your prompt consideration.

In solidarity,

Richard L. Trumka President

Signed by the following presidents and other elected officers of the affiliated unions of the AFL-CIO:

Paul Almeida, DPE Ron Ault, Metal Trades Mark Ayers, BCTD James Boland, BAC Clayola Brown, APRI Thomas Buffenbarger, IAM James Callahan, IUOE Larry Cohen, CWA Daniel Duncan, MTD Barbara Easterling, ARA Michael Goodwin, OPEIU Edwin Hill, IBEW General Holiefield, UAW Frank Hurt, BCTGM Lorretta Johnson, AFT Gregory Junemann, IFPTE Bob King, UAW **Richard Kline, UL&STD** James Little, TWU William Lucy, APWU Robert McEllrath, ILWU Gerald McEntee, AFSCME Joseph Nigro, SMWIA Roberta Reardon, AFTRA Fred Redmond, USW Clyde Rivers, CSEA Frederic Rolando, NALC Milton Rosado, LCLAA Michael Sacco, Seafarers Union Robert Scardelletti, TCU/IAM Karen See, CLUW Veda Shook, AFA-CWA Bruce Smith, GMP John Sweeney, AFL-CIO Walter Wise, Ironworkers Nancy Wolforth, OPEIU Ed Wytkind, TTD