President-elect Joe Biden has appointed 27 leaders from the labor movement to assist in the transition to his administration. The leaders will serve on various Agency Review Teams (ART) that will help to ensure that President Biden is ready to go on Day one.

Here is a list of Labor Leaders Appointed to Biden’s Transition Team:

Transition Advisory Board:

  • International President Lonnie Stephenson, Electrical Workers (IBEW);
  • President Teresa Romero, United Farm Workers (UFW)
  • Department of Education:
  • Beth Antunez, American Federation of Teachers (AFT);
  • Shital Shah, AFT;
  • Marla Ucelli-Kashyap, AFT;
  • Donna Harris-Aikens, National Education Association (NEA)

Department of Energy:

  • Brad Markell, Industrial Union Council, AFL-CIO
  • Department of Health and Human Services:
  • Sarah Nolan, Service Employees International Union (SEIU)

Department of Justice:

  • Rocio Inclan-Rodriguez, NEA

Department of Labor:

  • Jennifer Abruzzo, Communications Workers of America (CWA);
  • Jessica Chu, Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU);
  • Mike Hazard, United Association of Union Plumbers and Pipefitters (UA);
  • Nadia Marin-Molina, National Day Laborer Organizing Network (NDLON);
  • Shaun O’Brien, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME);
  • Patricia Smith, National Employment Law Project (NELP);
  • Lynn Rhinehart, Economic Policy Institute (EPI)

Department of State:

  • Owen Herrnstadt, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW)

Department of Treasury:

  • Damon Silvers, AFL-CIO

Department of Transportation:

  • David Barnett, UA;
  • Brendan Danaher, Transport Workers Union (TWU);
  • David Cameron, International Brotherhood of Teamsters (IBT)

Federal Reserve:

  • Damon Silvers, AFL-CIO;
  • Renaye Manley, SEIU


  • David Weaver, Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA)

Office of Personnel Management:

  • Melody Gonzales, NEA

Office of the United States Trade Representative:

  • Julie Greene Collier, AFL-CIO;
  • Celeste Drake, Directors Guild of America

Social Security Administration:

  • Scott Frey, AFSCME

Department of Agriculture:

  • LaQuita Honeysucker, United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW)

United States Postal Service:

  • Jim Sauber, National Association of Letter Carriers (NALC)